Monday, 18 December 2017

BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2017: See full list of winners

The 2017 BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award, took place at the city's Echo Arena on Sunday night. It was the 64th presentation of the Award presented annually by the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC),

And at the glittering ceremony last night, World 10,000m champion Mo Farah, 34, was the biggest winner of the night as he was voted BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2017.

The athlete who won his third successive world 10,000m gold medal in London in August, which was the highlight of the year, scooped the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award with 83, 524 votes ahead of Jonathan Rea, Jonnie Peacock and Anthony Joshua.

 See other award winners at Sports Personality 2017 below.

Helen Rollason Award: Sunderland fan and club mascot Bradley Lowery, whose bravery touched the hearts of many people, died aged six from a rare form of cancer in July.

Young Sports Personality of the Year: Manchester City midfielder Phil Foden helped England win the Under-17 World Cup and took the Golden Ball award for the tournament's best player.

Unsung Hero: Volunteer Denise Larrad for her fundraising work. The 55-year-old has had one sole aim - to get the people of Hinckley in Leicestershire active.

Lifetime Achievement: Former heptathlon champion Dame Jessica Ennis-Hill won Olympic gold at London 2012 and a silver at the Rio Games four years later.

Overseas Sports Personality of the Year: Tennis player Roger Federer won the award for a record fourth time after claiming his eighth Wimbledon title and 19th Grand Slam in 2017.

Coach of the Year: Sprint coaches Benke Blomkvist, Stephen Maguire and Christian Malcolm helped GB's men's 4x100m team to World Championship gold.

Team of the Year: England women's cricket team produced a stunning fightback to beat India and win the World Cup in July.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comments and Encouragement are welcome

2016 | .. Powered by Blogger.